NCEDA President’s Award

NCEDA presents an annual award to the individual who best exemplifies leadership in the state’s economic development efforts. The North Carolina President’s award is given in recognition of the winner’s contributions to expansions and projects completed during the previous calendar year.

Our Current Honoree

Jim Fain
Former Secretary, NC Department of Commerce

NCEDA recognized former NC Commerce Secretary, Jim Fain, with its 2022 Presidents Award.

Jim Fain is a principal with Reid Street Consulting and immediate past President and CEO of the NC Global TransPark, a 2,500 acre industrial and logistics park in Kinston. Before joining the TransPark, he was a business consultant at KDI Capital Partners where he assisted with marketing and client relationship activities. Jim has the distinction of being North Carolina’s longest serving Secretary of Commerce (2001-2008). Prior to his career in public service, Jim enjoyed a 24 year career with First Union National Bank. His banking assignments included positions in the International Division and Corporate Banking in Charlotte, as Corporate Banking Manager and City Executive in the High Point and Triangle Region Executive in Raleigh. Jim earned his BA and MBA degrees from UNC Chapel Hill and was inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma while at the Kenan-Flagler Business School.

Previous Honorees:

2021: Maureen Little (retired from the NC Community College System)
2020: George Sherrill (retired from the NC Department of Commerce)