Service Award

NCEDA annually presents a service award to an individual who provides outstanding leadership in economic development. The NC Economic Developer of the Year award rewards the nominee’s contributions to expansions and projects completed during the calendar year. NCEDA accepts nominations in May each year and presents the award at the NCEDA Annual Conference in June.

Economic Developer of the Year

2017: Wanda Yuhas – Pitt County Development Commission
2016:  R. Christopher Platé – Monroe-Union County Economic Development
2015:  Sandy Dunbeck- High Point Economic Development Corporation
2012:  Sam Powers – City of Asheville
2011:  Thomas Johnson – Rutherford County Economic Development Corporation
2011:  D. Mark Pope – Lenoir County Economic Development Department
2010:  Donald Porter – Raeford-Hoke County Economic Development Commission
2010:  Scott Millar – Catawba County Economic Development Corporation
2009:  Donny Hicks – Gaston County EDC
2008:  Joanna Thompson – Wayne County Development Alliance
2007:  Ken Atkins – Wake County Economic Development
2006:  Jane Smith – North Carolina Southeast Partnership