The NCEDA Economic Developer of the Year Award

NCEDA presents an annual award to the individual who best exemplifies leadership in the state’s economic development efforts. The North Carolina Economic Developer of the Year award is given in recognition of the winner’s contributions to expansions and projects completed during the previous calendar year.

Our Current Honoree

Wanda Yuhas
Executive Director
Pitt County Development Commission

Wanda was recognized as the 2017 Economic Developer of the year at NCEDA’s 2017 Annual Conference. She joined the Pitt County Development Commission in 1987 as Assistant Director in charge of marketing and existing industry services.  In 2006, she was selected as Executive Director and is responsible for establishing and implementing strategies to encourage economic development in Pitt County.  Wanda reports to the Pitt County Development Commission Board of Directors and manages a three person staff.  She holds an MA degree in English from Rutgers College, a BS degree in English from East Carolina University, and is a graduate of the Economic Development Institute at the University of Oklahoma.  Prior to joining the Development Commission, Wanda spent 9 years working in student affairs at three universities.

Previous Honorees

2016:  Chris Platé – Monroe-Union County Economic Development
2015:  Sandy Dunbeck – High Point Economic Development Corporation
2012:  Sam Powers – City of Asheville
2011:  Tom Johnson – Rutherford County Economic Development Corporation
2011:  Mark Pope – Lenoir County Economic Development Department
2010:  Don Porter – Raeford-Hoke County Economic Development Commission
2010:  Scott Millar – Catawba County Economic Development Corporation
2009:  Donny Hicks – Gaston County Economic Development Commission
2008:  Joanna Thompson – Wayne County Development Alliance
2007:  Ken Atkins – Wake County Economic Development
2006:  Jane Smith – North Carolina Southeast Partnership